Roger Salomon, Ian Wood, Tom Johnston, and Adrian Ratcliff will be inducted into GVMPS

Long time META members Roger Salomon and Ian Wood will be inducted into the Greater Vancouver Motorsports Pioneers Society this Saturday. Other inductees many of our members know are Tom Johnston, and Adrian Ratcliff. All four of these individuals date back to the Westwood days and were very active in motorsports in those days, and continue their involvement to this day. Congratulations are in order for all 2012 inductees.


Automotive historian and columnist Nigel Matthews featured speaker at the Greater Vancouver Motorsports Pioneers Society Induction Ceremony

Vancouver, B.C. ––  (September 6, 2012) – A  move to Shannon Hall at the Cloverdale Fairgrounds and one of B.C.’s most knowledgeable and influential classic car columnists as the guest speaker are  highlights of the Greater Vancouver Motorsports Pioneers Society’s 12th annual induction ceremony  on Saturday September 22nd. All motorsport enthusiasts are invited to the afternoon of history and camaraderie from noon to 4 p.m.

Keynote speaker is Nigel Matthews, classic car columnist with the Vancouver Province newspapers, an internationally recognized concours d’elegance judge and the marketing manager for Hagerty Classic Car Insurance in Canada.

The ceremony will honor 15 individuals who made major contributions in the early days of motorsports in the region. This includes hot rodding, custom car building, drag racing and land speed racing, sports car and road racing, motorcycling, power boat racing as well as car collecting and restoration.

The GVMPS, which has already inducted 183 pioneers, is a group of enthusiasts from various motorsports activities whose goal is to recognize and record the accomplishments of people who have made major contributions over the past four decades.

Among the pioneers being recognized this year are 93-year-old Dick Frankish, Roland Selby, Adrian Ratcliff and Jim Greenlees in the car collector and restoration category; Harry Dashevsky and Keith Warren for hot rod; Keith Whitter for oval track racing; Ian Wood, Tom Johnston and Roger Salomon for sports car racing; Billy Matthews and Jim McNeney for motorcycling; Rob Harrison and the team of Wrench and McKay for drag racing.

“The Motorsport Pioneers Society continues to recognize individuals who have made major contributions in past years as a way to celebrate this history,” says GVMPS president Jim Greenwood who has been recognized as a pioneer custom car striper and race organizer.

The event, which includes light snacks and beverages, is open to everyone who is interested in motorsports. A $15 admission will be requested at the door.

For more information contact:                                                        www.

Alyn Edwards                                                                                     Peak Communicators

Ph: 604 689-5559                                                                                Cell: 604 908-7231

First Race Of The Year At MRP Road Course Is This Weekend

Don’t forget the first race of the year for the Road Course at Mission Raceway Park is this weekend (April 14 & 15). If this will be your fist weekend volunteering let Leslie (the lady at the gate at that time of the morning) know you are interested in volunteering, she will try to connect you with the right people. Please be at the track before 7:45, the morning turnworker meeting is at the META clubhouse (near the far end of the pits after you come through the gate – look for a bunch of people dressed in white) at 8am sharp.

Information about the track is here:

WSC notice from SCCBC

SCCBC Official Notice:

Dear Membership,

Due to insufficient interest from both entrants and sponsors, the 2012 WSC has been cancelled.

We are looking into adding Special Races and other options to the schedule in lieu of the WSC, and will have more information on that in the coming weeks.


Steve Hocaluk| President | SCCBC |